The Gladstein Committee

The Gladstein Committee is the heart of the Human Rights Institute. The committee advises the Institute on policies and future directions, faculty hiring, grant initiatives, and educational programming. The multidisciplinary committee includes faculty from the humanities, social sciences, business, education, engineering, fine arts, law, social work, and UConn Health. It assesses how UConn can best contribute to the field of human rights, and seeks to create academic programs that build upon UConn’s strengths in faculty research, teaching, and practice. The committee selects the Gladstein Visiting Professor and oversees the undergraduate and graduate programs in human rights. Subcommittees review applications for funding from UConn faculty and students in teaching and research.

cesar abadia

César Abadía-Barrero

Associate Professor, Anthropology & Human Rights

cesar.abadia@uconn.edu

Nana Amos

Program Manager, Dodd Human Rights Impact

nana.amos@uconn.edu

Zehra Arat

Professor, Political Science

zehra.arat@uconn.edu

Jon Bauer

Clinical Professor of Law
Richard D. Tulisano '69 Scholar in Human Rights

jon.bauer@uconn.edu

Megan Berthold

Megan Berthold

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Graduate Certificate Coordinator, Social Work

megan.berthold@uconn.edu

Alex Branzell

Alex Branzell

Program Assistant, Human Rights Institute

alex.branzell@uconn.edu

Richard Brown

Richard Brown

Emeritus Professor, History

richard.brown@uconn.edu

Davis Chacon Hurtado

Davis Chacon Hurtado

Assistant Research Professor, Human Rights Institute

davis.chacon-hurtado@uconn.edu

Rachel Chambers

Assistant Professor, Business Law

rachel.2.chambers@uconn.edu

Audrey Chapman

Professor, Public Health Sciences

achapman@uchc.edu

Eleni Coundouriotis

Professor, English

eleni.coundouriotis@uconn.edu

Manisha Desai

Professor, Sociology & Asian and Asian American Studies
Department Head, Sociology

manisha.desai@uconn.edu

Heather Elliott-Famularo

Department Head, Digital Media & Design
Professor, Digital Film/Video Production

heather@uconn.edu

Gary English

Professor, Dramatic Arts

gary.english@uconn.edu

Jose Falconi

Co-Chair, Research Program on Arts & Human Rights
Assistant Professor, Art and Art History & Human Rights Institute

jose.falconi@uconn.edu

Robin Greeley

Co-Chair, Research Program on Arts & Human Rights
Associate Professor, Art History

robin.greeley@uconn.edu

Lynn Healy

Lynne Healey

Emeritus Professor, Social Work

lynne.healy@uconn.edu

Shareen Hertel

Shareen Hertel

Director, Research Program on Economic & Social Rights
Professor, Political Science & Human Rights

shareen.hertel@uconn.edu

Elizabeth Holzer

Director of Undergraduate Programs, Human Rights Institute
Associate Professor, Sociology & Human Rights

elizabeth.holzer@uconn.edu

Rachel Jackson

Rachel Jackson

Associate Director of Operations, Human Rights Institute

rachel.jackson@uconn.edu

Brendan Kane

Brendan Kane

Director, Democracy & Dialogues Initiative
Associate Professor, History & Literature, Cultures, & Languages

brendan.kane@uconn.edu

Henry Krisch

Emeritus Professor, Political Science

henrykrisch@gmail.com

molly land

Molly Land

Graduate Certificate Coordinator, School of Law
Catherine Roraback Professor of Law
Professor, Human Rights

molly.land@law.uconn.edu

Erica Laplante

Erica Laplante

Postdoctoral Research Associate

erica.laplante@uconn.edu

Kathryn Libal

Kathryn Libal

Director, Human Rights Institute
Associate Professor, Social Work & Human Rights

kathryn.libal@uconn.edu

Asif Majid

Asif Majid

Assistant Professor, Dramatic Arts & Human Rights

asif.majid@uconn.edu

Samuel Martinez

Samuel Martínez

Director, El Instituto
Professor, Anthropology

samuel.martinez@uconn.edu

Catherine Masud

Catherine Masud

Assistant Professor In-Residence, Human Rights Documentary Filmmaking

catherine.masud@uconn.edu

Michael Orwicz

Co-Chair, Research Program on Arts & Human Rights
Associate Professor, Art History

michael.orwicz@uconn.edu

Mark Overmyer-Velázquez

Mark Overmyer-Velázquez

University Campus Director, UConn Hartford
Professor, History & Latino and Latin American Studies

mark.velazquez@uconn.edu

Stephen Park

Co-Director, Business and Human Rights Initiative
Associate Professor, Business Law

stephen.park@uconn.edu

Avinoam Patt

Avinoam Patt

Director, Doris and Simon Konover Chair of Judaic Studies
Associate Professor, Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

avinoam.patt@uconn.edu

Nishith Prakash

Nishith Prakash

Associate Professor, Economics & Human Rights

nishith.prakash@uconn.edu

Susan Randolph

Susan Randolph

Emerita Professor, Economics

susan.randolph@uconn.edu

david richards

David Richards

Director of Graduate Programs, Human Rights Institute
Associate Professor, Political Science & Human Rights

david.richards@uconn.edu

Michael Rubin

Michael Rubin

Director, Human Rights Research and Data Hub
Assistant Research Professor, Human Rights, Engineering & Business

michael.a.rubin@uconn.edu

sara silverstein

Sara Silverstein

Co-Director, Research Program on Humanitarianism
Assistant Professor, History & Human Rights

sara.silverstein@uconn.edu

Sandra Sirota

Sandra Sirota

Director, Human Rights Close to Home
Assistant Professor in Residence, Experiential Global Learning & Human Rights

sandra.sirota@uconn.edu

Jackie Thompson

Jacqueline Thompson

Financial Assistant, Human Rights Institute

jacqueline.thompson@uconn.edu

Lynne Tirrell

Professor, Philosophy

lynne.tirrell@uconn.edu

Fiona Vernal

Associate Professor, History

fiona.vernal@uconn.edu

katharina vonhammerstein

Katharina von Hammerstein

Emerita Professor, German Studies

von.hammerstein@uconn.edu

Manuela Wagner

Manuela Wagner

Professor, German Studies and Applied Linguistics and Discourse Studies

manuela.wagner@uconn.edu

Scott Wallace

Scott Wallace

Associate Professor, Journalism

scott.wallace@uconn.edu

Alyssa Webb

Alyssa Webb

Educational Program Coordinator, Human Rights Institute

alyssa.webb@uconn.edu

Thomas Weinland

Emeritus Professor, Education

thomas.weinland@uconn.edu

Sarah Willen

Sarah Willen

Co-Director, Research Program on Global Health and Human Rights
Associate Professor, Anthropology

sarah.willen@uconn.edu

Richard Wilson

Richard Wilson

Gladstein Distinguished Chair of Human Rights
Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Law and Anthropology

richard.wilson@uconn.edu

sarah wInter

Sarah Winter

Co-Director, Research Program on Humanitarianism
Professor, English

sarah.winter@uconn.edu

Sebastian Wogenstein

Sebastian Wogenstein

Associate Professor, German Studies

wogenstein@uconn.edu