The Gladstein Committee & Chair

The Gladstein Committee advises the Director of the Human Rights Institute on a variety of matters, including faculty hiring, overall policy and direction, grant initiatives. It oversees the Human Rights Minor and Major, and its subcommittees review applications for funding from UConn faculty and students in teaching and research.

César Abadía-Barrero

Director of Undergraduate Programs, Human Rights Institute | Associate Professor, Anthropology &
Human Rights

Nana Amos

Program Manager | Dodd Impact

Zehra Arat

Professor, Political Science

Jon Bauer

Clinical Professor of Law and Richard D. Tulisano '69 Scholar in Human Rights

Megan Berthold

Associate Professor, School of Social Work | Graduate Certificate Coordinator, Social Work

Richard Brown

Emeritus Professor, History

Davis Chacon Hurtado

Assistant Research Professor | Human Rights Institute

Rachel Chambers

Assistant Professor | Business Law

Audrey Chapman

Professor, Public Health Sciences

Eleni Coundouriotis

Eleni Coundouriotis

Professor, English

Manisha Desai

Professor, Sociology &
Asian and Asian American Studies | Department Head, Sociology

Heather Elliott-Famularo Headshot

Heather Elliott-Famularo

Department Head, DMD | Professor, Digital Digital Film/Video Production

Gary English

Professor, Dramatic Arts

Lynne Healey Headshot

Lynne Healey

Emeritus Professor | Social Work

Shareen Hertel

Professor, Political Science &
Human Rights|Co-Director, Research Program on Economic &
Social Rights

Liz Holzer

Elizabeth Holzer

Associate Professor, Sociology &
Human Rights

Rachel Jackson

Education Program Manager | Human Rights Institute

Brendan Kane Headshot

Brendan Kane

Director, Democracy &
Dialogues Initiative | Associate Professor, History &
Literature, Cultures, &

Prakash Kashwan

Associate Professor, Political Science|Co-Director, Research Program on Economic &
Social Rights

Henry Krisch

Emeritus Professor, Political Science

Molly Land

Catherine Roraback Professor of Law | Professor of Human Rights

Kathryn Libal

Director, Human Rights Institute | Associate Professor, Social Work &
Human Rights

Samuel Martinez

Samuel Martínez

Professor, Anthropology|Director, El Instituto

Glenn Mitoma

Director, Dodd Impact | Assistant Professor, Education &
Human Rights

Mark Overmyer-Velázquez

Professor, History &
Latino and Latin American Studies | University Campus Director, UConn Hartford

Stephen Park

Director, Business and Human Rights Initiative | Associate Professor, Business Law

Avinoam Patt

Director, Doris and Simon Konover Chair of Judaic Studies | Associate Professor, Literatures, Cultures, and Languages

Nishith Prakash

Associate Professor, Economics &
Human Rights

Susan Randolph

Susan Randolph

Emeritus Professor, Economics

David Richards

Associate Professor, Political Science &
Human Rights

Michael Rubin

Assistant Research Professor

Sara Silverstein

Assistant Professor, History &
Human Rights

Sandra Sirota

Post-Doctoral Fellow | Human Rights Institute

Graham Stinnett

Curator of Human Rights Collection and Alternative Press Collections, Dodd Research Center

Lynne Tirrell

Associate Professor, Philosophy

Fiona Vernal

Associate Professor, History

Katharina von Hammerstein

Professor, German Studies |Graduate Certificate Coordinator, CLAS

Alyssa Webb

Educational Program Coordinator | Human Rights Institute

Thomas Weinland

Emeritus Professor, Education

Sarah Willen

Associate Professor of Anthropology | Director of the Research Program on Global Health and Human Rights | Human Rights Institute

Richard Wilson

Gladstein Distinguished Chair of Human Rights | Professor of Law and Anthropology

Sarah Winter

Professor of English | Director, Research Program on Humanitarianism | Human Rights Institute

Sebastian Wogenstein

Associate Professor, German Studies