Tuition Scholarships

 About the Scholarship

These scholarships are awarded to academically outstanding undergraduate students who are enrolled full time at the University of Connecticut. There are various eligibility criteria for each scholarship that is available but all applicant must be either minoring or majoring in human rights, demonstrate academic achievement and financial need. Preference, for some awards, will be given to students who are also majoring or minoring in Political Science.  Students who are ineligible for state or federal financial aid are eligible to apply for these scholarships.

2020 Undergraduate Scholarship Awardees

Natalie Casanova – Human Rights & Political Science - Open Society Foundation Award

Brianna Dyer –  Human Rights & Global Studies - Open Society Foundation Award

Vernessa Kingsbury – Human Rights & Anthropology - Open Society Foundation Award

Shreya Murthy –Human Rights Finance, & Criminology - Open Society Foundation Award

Aarushi Nohria – Human Rights & English - Alan B. Slifka Award

Megan Paige –Human Rights & Psychology - Wiktor Osiatynki Award

Melita Seibel  Human Rights & Communications - Open Society Foundation Award

Olivia Swanson – Human Rights & Natural Resources - Open Society Foundation Award

For more information about the 2020 scholarship awardees please see HERE

For information on previous years awardees, please see HERE.

Application Instructions
  1. Complete all required fields on the application found here, 
  2. Save an unofficial copy of your University of Connecticut transcript as a pdf.
  3. Write a one page reflection on the provided prompt
  4. Submit the completed application no later than Friday, March 8, 2021

The deadline to be considered for a scholarship is March 8, 2021

The Scholarship Committee will make their final selections no later than June 1, 2021. Scholarship recipients will be notified. Non-recipients will not be contacted.

All scholarships will be administered by the Office of Student Financial Aid Services. If you are a need-based financial aid recipient (loans, grants, work-study employment) your financial aid package may be revised as a result of this award. If no adjustment is necessary and your fee bill is paid in full, you may be entitled to a refund.

If you have questions about how a scholarship could affect your financial aid package, please call (860)486-2819.

These scholarships are made possible by the generous contributions from the 

Alan B. Slifka, Mark S. Rudy, Open Society Foundations and Wiktor Osiatynski Scholarships.